Author Topic: game remakes  (Read 4121 times)

Alaskaban

game remakes
« on: September 13, 2012, 07:04:43 PM »
do you need permission to remake a game

Intendant S

• Senior Villain
  • Liked: 141
  • Hero of the Adventure Game Revival Movement
    • View Profile
    • Kickstart Ventures
Re: game remakes
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2012, 07:36:31 PM »
I'm no expert on the industry, but based on what I've seen over the past five months or so on Kickstarter that you would either need to own the rights for an IP already or would have to license it from the rights-holders.
"Too much spirit can be a dangerous thing. Tends to... infect others."

Lambonius

• Team IQ
  • Mastermind
  • Liked: 1762
  • Mojo Brojo
    • View Profile
    • Infamous Adventures
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2012, 07:46:10 PM »
You can do whatever you want in the privacy of your own home.  It's when you decide to start distributing that remake that issues arise.  And yes, you would certainly need permission to sell a remake.  When the remake craze started years ago, nobody had permission--everyone basically flew under the radar and hoped for the best.  AGDI got approached by Vivendi, but it was after they already had released their first remake, so a "fan license" deal was reached to allow them to continue working on the various projects they had already started.  TSL was shut down twice, and managed, through a lot of fan petitioning, to get Activision to work with them to grant them a fan license, too. 
Lambonius...Rarely has our moderating team encountered a forumite as consistently unpleasant as you, and you've burned through far more chances than you deserved. A person really has to try hard to be so obnoxious that they're banned from AG, but you've managed it and then some.

Klytos

• The Big Cheese
  • The Bosses
  • Mastermind
  • Liked: 1715
  • Infamous to the Max Power!
    • Shawn Klytos Mills
    • shawnmills100
    • shawnmills100
    • View Profile
    • Infamous Quests